Burton Custom X 2009

August 11, 2008

By Scott Briggs
SnowboardReviews.com

Boston – The 2009 Burton Custom X is back for another season to no ones surprise. Some consider this one of the best snowboards on the market, but Burton can not stop perfecting this snowboard. The 2009 Custom X features the Infinite Channel system, allowing the easiest most adjustable mounting for your bindings. The Channel is compatible with all the Burton bindings and truly allows an easy way for you to constantly tweak your settings until you find the ultimate position you want for rinding.

The Burton Custom X is a top of the line all-mountain FreeStyle snowboard that is a lot of fun to rip up the whole mountain. The Custom X features the stainless steel pressure distribution edges with grip and rip tune to give you the perfect grip whether you are in deep powder or ice. These edges help make you feel in total control in all conditions or terrain.

Also new to the 2009 Custom X is the Pro-Tip, a tapered thickness in the tip and tail that dramatically reduces swing weight. The reduced swing weight allows you to turn the spin tricks a little faster.

Features of the Burton Custom X Snowboard:

  • Infinite Channel System
  • Directional Shape
  • Flex: Twin
  • Sintered N2O WFO Vision Base
  • Dragonfly Core With Multizone EGD And Positive Profile
  • New Carbon Vaporskin With Triax Response Fiberglass And Carbon I-Beam
  • Slantwall
  • Stainless Steel Pressure Distribution Edges With Grip And Rip Tune
  • Pro-Tip And Infinite Ride

Burton Custom X 2009 for $699.95

Comments

15 Responses to “Burton Custom X 2009”

  1. Joe on September 23rd, 2008 9:20 pm

    How is this board compared to the Burton Supermodel X? I have to get a new board this year (last board was trashed in a car accident) and I want to do my research before buying. I’m more of an all mountain snowboarder. I rarely if ever go into a park. I gave up that type of boarding a long time ago. Now I’m into steeps, powder and going as fast as I can. But I do like to hit the occasional jump and get some air when I can. I love to go out west and hit the bowls, trees, and hopefully powder. I’m would rate myself as an expert snowboarder, honestly there’s nothing I can’t handle. Anyway, hope that background helps a bit…

    Do let me know if you come up with a review of the Burton Supermodel X or have any other recommendations based on my rider style. Thanks!

  2. Scott on September 29th, 2008 1:41 pm

    Joe,

    Thanks for the question. Unfortunately we have not had a chance to do a full review of the Supermodel yet, but I did take a look at it this weekend for you.

    One thing that stands out is the Supermodel has a core that is made for Powder. Here is the description right from the Burton site: “Features a more resilient, lighter-weight nose that when combined with the board’s tapered shape and set-back stance, promotes float and eliminates rear leg burn so you can relax when riding powder.” Now myself I am a huge fan of riding everything and I like to hit the park so I would go Custom X, but based on your style I think the Supermodel X is a perfect fit never mind that I am seeing it $100 cheaper than the Custom X . Otherwise when you compare the boards side by side the differences in my opinion are small.

    I hope this helps you out!
    Scott

  3. charlie on December 12th, 2008 7:43 pm

    Hey Scott,

    just wondering if you were using he CO2 EST bindings. I just received my Custom X and reviews mate it with those bindings. Would you agree?

    Thanks
    Charlie

    Charlie – I have not used the EST’s yet…. but I hear they are the way to go if you can swing it. I am using the Cartel’s on my Custom from 2008 and I am liking them a lot.

    -Scott

  4. Hunter McPherson on January 15th, 2009 11:08 pm

    Joe,
    It really depends on the type of boarding you are going to do the most often. It sounds like going with the Supermodel X would be best. Critics really like the all-around performance of the Custom X, but if you’re looking for something that is going to tear it up outside of the park better than the Custom X, it is probably best to opt for the Supermodel X.

  5. Martin on January 26th, 2009 4:41 pm

    Hi,
    I bought Bustom X last year and I§m really satisfied. I§d like to buy similar board for my girlfriend. What is the difference between boards for men and women? What is an equivalent of custom X for women?
    We like to ride slopes mostly, litle bit of powder and jups and forests rides.

    I¨m looking for something with a total control over the board and something really fast.

    thanks,
    Martin

  6. Mike on February 23rd, 2009 6:08 pm

    I too am looking for a comparable board for my lady. She’s tried a few boards from Burton and hasn’t been happy with them. I’m thinking of just getting her a Custom X as well, there’s no rule out there that says the Custom X is for men only.

    I’m a huge fan of the Custom X and I just upgraded my 2007 to the 2009 model because I loved the design and the ICS configuration. Also REI had them on sale for like $360, how can you beat that?

  7. kris on March 1st, 2009 5:05 pm

    Hey Mike and Martin,
    I am a girl and ride the 2009 Custom X – it’s the best and riding it feels like I’ve never done anything other. I love my board! Thing is, I’m really tall (6 ft), so I also bring enough weight to the board to carve my turns. I’m riding the 160 cm.

    So, if your girls aren’t too small or too lightweight they should have a lot of fun on this board. I hear the Feelgood from Burton is a pretty versatile all mountain women board, though I think it’s not as high end as the Custom X.

  8. Doug on March 6th, 2009 8:52 pm

    Hey guys, i currently ride a Salomon Forecast(158) which i have owned for 3 years now. Recently I found myself without all my gear and at a resort on a perfect powder day. I rented a crappy board that i was able to flex nearly tip to tip by hand. Expecting the worst, i went out on the mountain and found myself more confident than ever in the trees and powder. I was taking cliff runs and dense tree patches i never would have run on my board. I know realize that my board is not the board for me. It is way heavy and super stiff, making fast turns in powder an almost impossible feat. I need some help looking at a new option and my first thoughts were to stay with Salomon for the quality of materials. I am thinking i need a more freestyle designed board with more flex and lighter weight. I also figure i would look at the largest board mfg in the market, Burton. Only problem, its been so long since i really shopped a board, i really dont know what i am looking for. Any help would be great. I love steep deep and trees. I rarely hit the park but i love jumping off cliffs in the back country. I consider myself an expert snowboarder looking for something that like to turn faster, transition quicker and give more confidence in the trees.

    Thank you,

    Doug

  9. Chad on May 9th, 2009 5:39 pm

    I am currently on a Burton Canyon 162 and have really enjoyed the ride. However, it is time for a new purchase. I am about to UT and will be spending a lot of time on the mountain this year. I am an all mountain rider with a big foot. I will rarely hit the park usually just for some jumps on the way down. I prefer steep and deep as well as the glades. I’m curious as to whether the custom X W or the custom W would be a better choice for me. Thanks in advance.

    Chad

  10. Jarrett on November 27th, 2009 2:39 pm

    Hey I was wondering if I have to have burton bindings to use this board? I’m not familiar with the ICS stuff and I’m really unsure because I’m using k2 cinch bindings right now

  11. Josh on December 2nd, 2009 11:51 pm

    I just bought a 2009 Custom X and Burton Mission EST bindings. Everything that I’ve heard, read, and seen says only Burton bindings work with the Channel (there’s no adapter plate like with normal bindings and Burton boards). Regular burton bindings (three hole) will work with the channel, but will limit its function slightly. The whole point of the EST bindings and Channel board is to give “unlimited” stance options and easy, quick adjustments and to bring the distance between your feet and the board to a minimum, increasing direct control over the board. Basically, if you can swing the price or find a good deal, get the EST bindings (made only by burton).

  12. SCOTT on January 1st, 2010 3:49 pm

    I got my T6, Custom X and a couple others to toss around the parks on. My question is in regards to the channel itself, how does it effect the flex? The idea of moving the bindings while still buckled in is great, but I do not want to lose the snappiness.

  13. Jeff Stolt on January 11th, 2010 6:41 pm

    Actually, Josh, you’re wrong about the EST bindings. because they don’t have a disc mount, you can not rotate them beyond 20 degrees in most applications. The ICS channel boards have a wide range of stances with disc bindings but are quite limited with the EST because the mounts are on the side, limiting stance width and angles. Stance width has 4″ more play on an ICS with disc than with ECS. Play around with the setups and you will see. The EST bindings are for specific use but for a wide range of positions, the combo is ICS board with traditional disc-mount Burton bindings.

  14. mark on February 11th, 2010 5:52 pm

    I got an 08′ Fish and I like to ride with steep angles to help with control through the trees and where its steep…I ride about a 45 front and 30 in the back foot (also a hardbooter). I like the idea of EST bindings and they seem to be a great idea with the channel but IMHO they are pretty much setup best for freestyle/park those who ride duck. I got a pair of CO2s with discs and they work just fine with no movement. If they could re-design the EST baseplate to accomodate some steeper angles and still have no deformation/rigidity issues that would be great and I’d love to try-em out!

  15. Sarah on February 24th, 2010 10:25 pm

    Hey Mike and Martin,

    I am a female Custom X rider as well and I love it! I own a 2007 158. I am 5’6″ and granted, I do shred, but I have found that women’s boards are flimsy, low tech, slow, and generally don’t come close to the performance of men’s boards. Before investing in a board though check with your local ski shop and see if they will let her demo a Custom X for a day. I did that and I think they just charged me a rental. It is a good way of seeing if she can handle it before spending the money.

Got something to say?





  • Boards